Morphological and Structural Properties of Silver Nanofilms Annealed by RTP in Different Atmospheres
American Journal of Nano Research and Applications
Volume 3, Issue 6, November 2015, Pages: 99-104
Received: Nov. 4, 2015; Accepted: Nov. 13, 2015; Published: Nov. 26, 2015
Views 3535      Downloads 138
P. D. Nsimama, Dar Es Salaam Institute of Technology, Department of Science and Laboratory Technology, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania
Article Tools
Follow on us
This study aims at investigating the influence of gas atmospheres on the dewetting properties of DC sputtered and rapid thermally annealed silver (Ag) nanofilms. The annealing temperature ranged from 400℃ to 600℃ and the gases studied were argon (Ar) and nitrogen (N2). Scanning electron microscope (SEM) and focused ion beam (FIB) were employed for morphological studies, while the X-ray diffraction (XRD) technique was applied in the structural analysis of the films. The SEM and top-view FIB-SEM images of Ag films annealed in both atmospheres were characterized by irregular shaped holes. At fixed temperature, the films annealed in the N2 atmospheres gave higher hole density and larger hole sizes than the film annealed in the Ar atmosphere. Additionally, the hole density decreased with the annealing time. For films annealed in the N2 atmosphere, isolated dewetted particles were only obtained at 600℃ substrate temperature. The XRD patterns of all the films were characterized by Ag metallic peaks. No significant difference was observed among the films’ crystal structures. The annealing atmospheres mainly influences the morphologies of Ag nanofilms.
Ag, Dewetting, Annealing Atmosphere, FIB
To cite this article
P. D. Nsimama, Morphological and Structural Properties of Silver Nanofilms Annealed by RTP in Different Atmospheres, American Journal of Nano Research and Applications. Vol. 3, No. 6, 2015, pp. 99-104. doi: 10.11648/j.nano.20150306.12
Copyright © 2015 Authors retain the copyright of this article.
This article is an open access article distributed under the Creative Commons Attribution License ( which permits unrestricted use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
Claudia Manuela Müller, Ralph Spolenak, (2010), Acta Materialia, 58, 6035-6045.
F. Ruffino and M. G. Grimaidi, (2014), Vacuum, 99, 28-37.
O. Malyi and E. Rabkin, (2012), Acta Materialia, 60, 261-268.
Anna Kosinova, Oleg Covalenko, Leonid Klinger and Eugen Rabkin, (2015), Acta Materialia, 83, 91-101.
S. K. Sharma and J. Spitz, (1980), Thin Solid Films, 65, 339-350.
S. K. Sharma, S. V. M Rao and N. Kumar, (1986), Thin Solid Films, 142, L95- L98.
Jongpil Ye, (2014), Appl. Phys. Express, 7, 085601.
A. Herz, D. Wang, Th. Kups and P. Schaaf, J. Appl. Phys., (2014), 116, 044307.
Satoko Kuwano-Nakatani, Takeshi Fujita, Kazuki Uchisawa, Daichi Umetsu, Yu Kase, Yusuke Kowata, Katsuhiko Chiba, Tomoharu Tokunaga, Shigeo Arai, Yuta Yamamoto, Nobuo Tanaka and Mingwei Chen, (2015), Materials Transactions, 56, No. 4, pp. 468-472.
X. H Yang, H. T. Fu, K. Wong, X. C Jiang, A. B. Yu, (2013), Nanotechnology, 24, 415601 (10 pp).
Science Publishing Group
1 Rockefeller Plaza,
10th and 11th Floors,
New York, NY 10020
Tel: (001)347-983-5186